Home School is For Real Now (Morning and Evening Routine Charts for Pre-Readers)

I have been homeschooling my oldest son since he was about 3 years old.  I since have learned that letting them play and explore in these early years are some of the best lessons I can give my children. I started a relaxed preschool curriculum with my oldest son when he was 4, and now it has struck me that he is now 5, and Kindergarten is fast approaching this coming fall and that “Home School is For Real Now”.  So, I have been battening down the hatches around here, dotting my I’s and crossing my t’s.. because.. well, I am really good at creating plans and schedules, but, I am really, really bad at keeping them.

I could pertain it to the fact that I have an autoimmune disease and I go through seasons where I feel really great and seasons where I do not, or, that, I have a nursing baby, or, I am exhausted a lot of the time, but, I have to face this, I have to do my best. The thing I struggle with the most is waking up at 6 am. I feel so tired, most of the time. The thing that I must do is not rely upon my own strength, I must remember this, “But He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will boast in my weaknesses, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. So I take pleasure in weaknesses, in reproaches, in hardships, in persecutions, and in distresses for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Cor 12:9-10. My prayer now is for the Lord to help me through my exhaustion, to help me through my disease and help me to be the best momma and teacher for His glory alone. He is so faithful.

I have been working on creating a schedule with my boys. My oldest two are 5 and 3. I have learned with my personality type that a flow to the day works better for me and a nursing, teething infant than a very strict time schedule. My strict time guidelines are only for wake up time, meal times and bed time. In between those set times, I just write a flow to the day. I am currently working on creating an awesome looking schedule for me to follow and to look at. But, currently, I made these cute little morning and evening charts for my boys to look at. I will connect these to this blog post. I hope you enjoy them as well or find them useful. If you are a Christian following me, pray for me and our household, as I tackle these struggles of sickness and exhaustion in my days, so that I can help my family do their best. Let me know how I can pray for you. Soli Deo Gloria.

 

Here are the links to the Morning and Evening Charts:

Good Morning

Good Night

Leave a Reply

